PDA

View Full Version : Portland incident

bustah
12-04-2004, 09:56 PM
Never thought I'd be writing about someone accosting me at a Fixx show, but it's something I think I should share with some of the loyal fans out there. First of all, let me say I've been a Fixx fan for over 22 years. Seen lots of shows throughout Canada and the US, and I always thoroughly enjoy the music, performances and approachibility of the band members. They're great guys, and they are still making fantastic music. I made the trip down to Portland for the show at Barracuda's on November 27. Had a small digital camera that I was taking pictures with, trying to get the best shots I could for myself and friends and to donate them to the website. I usually snap my camera into movie mode for a brief clip or two as well at events like this, and after taking lots of pics well into the night, I started shooting a clip. Now I don't have much memory on this camera, so the clips are not very long anyway. Suddenly some dude, who I thought was a bouncer, real aggressive, started accusing me of shooting a video of the band! I'm like, what!? A video? It's a small camera man, I told him, and I'm happy to donate all to the website. Nevertheless, this guy starts getting real aggressive, and thinking he must be a bouncer, (seemed way too aggressive and uninformed about the band) I go with him to the front where he turns to a real bouncer and starts shouting that I'm taking video and for him to take my camera. Now I don't know who this guy is, and why he's trying to stop me from ruining the bands illustrious career by taking a 30 second video clip. After I told this idiot to take his hands off me, and ignoring his further aggression, I turn to the real bouncer who says "I don't think you're supposed to be taking pictures in here". I told him the Fixx have a website and all photos and video clips are donated, to which he replied "OK, just stay away from that guy, apparently he's with the band and a real hothea